Freelancing Online

June 27, 2009

Text Broker Review

Filed under: Article Sites — carlaboner @ 6:23 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Text Broker, now this is an interesting one. Some people I know do pretty well writing for Text Broker while I never did so well. I have a friend that makes over $100 a month writing for them. The website is set up quite nicely, so that it is easy to use. When you apply to Text Broker you will write a short sample and they will evaluate it on a star system (1-5 stars). Most writers when starting out begin at a 2 star rating and as you complete assignments if you average a higher rating, Text Broker will raise your rating. The higher the rating the higher paying jobs you are able to search for.

Only one article at a time can be accepted through the Text Broker system. Once you complete one article, you can then claim another and so on. Typically there is a large selection of articles to choose from although many of them are odd topics. I rarely find topics that I want to write on, although like I said some people do pretty well on the site.

I have a few issues with Text Broker, that prevent me from being able to do more for them. First off, there is very little personal connection. I have written many articles for clients I know nothing about, technically I don’t even know if they exist. Of the assignments I have completed through Text Broker I have only ever spoke to one client through email and that is because he took the time to contact me through the Text Broker system.

Another issue I have is the low pay. Most articles pay less than 1 cent per word, until you get into the higher ratings. Which leads me to the only one assignment at a time policy. I understand why they do it but at the same time I think the more you work for them and prove you are there to provide they should allow at least up to 5 claims. There have been several occasions when I claimed a somewhat decent paying assignment hoping to get it done in time to claim another, just to have them be claimed by the time I completed the first one. In my opinion this leads to sloppy work that is done to hastily for any research, spell-checking or proofreading.

I hate to admit it but if I am getting paid less than 5 cents per word I am not going to spend a lot of time making sure the article is perfect. Which brings me to my last point, my name is not on this article – giving me yet another reason to not care a whole lot about the quality. That’s right Text Broker is a ghostwriting site as in your name is not getting published with any of these articles and you retain zero rights to your work. This is why they are able to pay such low amounts. Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with ghostwriting if you are being compensated for all of the work you are doing and all of the rights you are selling.

If you are just looking to make a few bucks from home every month Text Broker is not a horrible option. If you are serious about becoming a writer and honing your skills, selling to magazines or even publishing a novel someday I would suggest only using Text Broker when you desprately need a cup of coffee – next month (they only pay on the 10th of every month).

1 Comment »

  1. I agree with all of this. I looked at textbroker for some in-between freelance work but you work awfully hard on research and revises for $2.00. I am a professional writer whether they believe it or not and the textbroker pay is too, too low.

    Also, I believe feedback from the client to whom you have submitted the article is what really is important. Then, that person could contact you to write on a similar or follow-up topic.

    While textbroker is better than nothing, it is not much better….

    Comment by Linda — August 22, 2009 @ 3:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

